Four Labour MPs who didn’t support Labour’s tax rise for the richest 5% last week

4 abstain.png

Four Labour MPs who ignored the whip and abstained

In the votes on Philip Hammond’s budget last week, the Establishment media chose to focus on twenty ‘moderate’ MPs whose decision to vote against a planned rise in tax thresholds was a slap in the face for some of the UK’s lowest earners – but was used by the media to undermine the Labour leadership.

But four Labour MPs also failed to support a Labour amendment to increase taxes for the top five percent of earners, instead choosing to abstain.

The four MPs were not, according to parliamentary sources, involved in ‘pairing’ – an agreement not to vote in order cancel out an unavoidably-absent MP voting the other way – and have not responded to a SKWAWKBOX enquiry whether there was any other reason for the abstention:

  • Chris Leslie
  • Angela Smith
  • Gavin Shuker
  • Ann Coffey

A fifth MP did respond to explain that she was absent helping a constituent who was being illegally evicted, that she had voted ‘with the whip’ on the other votes and would also have done so on the amendment if able to attend.

The SKWAWKBOX needs your support. This blog is provided free of charge but depends on the generosity of its readers to be viable. If you can afford to, please click here to arrange a one-off or modest monthly donation via PayPal. Thanks for your solidarity so this blog can keep bringing you information the Establishment would prefer you not to know about.

If you wish to reblog this post for non-commercial use, you are welcome to do so – see here for more.

See original post (opens new window)

Post Author: skwawkbox

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *